Hanging out.

I have FAST internet in JAKARTA! Time to put up some photos…

This is the view of the North Java Sea. I live 300m from the coast. You can see this nice, but expensive, resort in the distance. Nobody local can go there because it’s so expensive!

Sooo, this picture brings interesting memories… The mother in the background really, really, really wanted to get her son photographed with me, but alas, her son really, really, really didn’t want to be photographed with me. (This is not out-of-the-ordinary. Most young children are afraid of me or are really shy.) But the mom was insistent, and tried a bunch of times. The first few times he screamed his face off and I plugged my ears and tried to walk away. Then he cried. Then he spat in his mom’s face. The mom won and got the photograph, but with the consequence of her being in it too.

This is me hard at work with some of the teachers in the staff room during the morning break. I teach English every Saturday afternoon there, and then come by usually on Sunday morning and work on sort of a “round-table” elicitation. It’s a lot of fun.

And this is one of the many, many, many photo sessions that I’ve had. Here, I came to this elementary school in the next village over, Blimbing, and helped out for one morning. I taught the students the song “Head and shoulders, knees and toes”….  Aren’t they cute in their uniforms?

This is the cliff that the locals mine. I think it’s chalk. But some of the excavation looks really dangerous, because they carve out chunks towards the bottom of the hill, so the top part is looming over you, and it looks like it could fall and crush you! Anyways, you can go and hang out, and climb around, and climb to the top of the hill.

And when you get to the top of the hill, this is the view! Fantastic! By the way, this was at about 6:30am. I go walking every Friday morning with my friend Nunung (it’s a thing in the village to walking on Friday AM) , and this was one of the walks that we did.

And here’s me pretending to read Arabic at ngaji, a gathering for reading of the Holy Qur’an. At this one, I recorded an old lady giving a speech in Javanese.  The lady next to me asked me when I was going to convert to Islam.

And so that’s a little slice of the world I’m living in across the globe.

2 comments on “Hanging out.

  1. Cheryl Fox says:

    some incredible views there Jozi!
    The people seem completely enthralled with your presence!

  2. Nate says:

    I love your fast internet! And I know this is just a small part of your time in Paciran! You are amazing! :)

Leave a Reply

