Selamat Hari Natal!

I’m spending Christmas in Singapore! With the Jordan’s! Noooo, not multiple copies of my brother, but with my friend’s family. It’s so nice to be with a family for Christmas, sharing traditions, jokes, food.

This Christmas feels so strange to me though. I’ve been away for Christmas before, when I lived in France for one year. But this time, I haven’t been thinking about ‘the season’ that much. I mean, I did get excited for some things. I sent out 25 postcards, I believe! That was fun. But I sent them out only on Dec 2nd, so I doubt they’ll arrive on time. I only know one person that got their postcard already. And then I’ve been listening to Christmas music, especially Handel’s Messiah. That’s my favourite. Except it sounds so ridiculous and tinny on my computer because the speakers are horrible, so I’m walking around listening to it on my iPod.

I think it has a lot to do living in a majority Muslim country. And with the weather. It is just so weird not to have winter. I keep on waiting for the seasons to change. At least it’s getting a bit cooler with the rainy season now though. I sometimes sleep with a thin blanket now! But no snow! I miss that. Maybe more than my boyfriend and my family and my friends. Hahaha, just kidding. Seriously, though, I didn’t think I’d miss the seasons this much. Just being able to go for a run at any time of the day!!! That’s such a blessing that I didn’t know I had. Until I can only run at 6:30am (or earlier, of course). And if you sleep in a bit, or wake up and just can’t get out of bed, then that window of time is GONE FOREVER. And I can’t run anymore that day because it’s too hot. Or raining sheets of rain.

And about living in Indonesia, where about 85% of the country is Muslim, Christmas is not a really big deal. Compared to the holy month of Ramadan, where the signs of fasting were everywhere, Christmas is nothing! I think school gets 2 days of holidays. I actually worked until Dec.22nd (I’ve been teaching an English speaking class every Monday and Wednesday the past 2 months). The most I saw of Christmas decorations was some Santa hats in one department store, and I did see some Christmas trees (fake, of course) at some people’s houses when I went to visit the Sultan’s palace last weekend.

So when I got off the plane in Singapore and saw signs and some girls wearing t-shirts emblazoned with the message: “Christmas is…LOVE”, wow, here is a sign. And walking down the street (with no litter and women wearing SHORTS and some wearing TANK TOPS or dresses with SPAGHETTI STRAPS; I haven’t seen so much skin in 4 months, it was scary) I saw Christmas lights all over and glitter and then this random Christmas parade happened with more lights and neon signs shouting that Jesus is Lord.

Go tell it on the streets of Singapore!

Merry Christmas to all my friends and family. I miss you all very much. Very much.

3 comments on “Selamat Hari Natal!

  1. Amanda says:

    I sense JOY in your letter Jozina
    So happy for you in Singapore!
    Merry Christmas….now and every day!
    love
    amanda

  2. amanda says:

    we got our christmas card Joz! Did you get your package yet? The Canada Post guy warned me that it might take a bit since Indonesia isn’t exactly known for their mail delivery expediency, but its headed your way (since Dec 5) so it should show up soon!

    I’ve thought of you a lot these past few days and I miss you and am sending you love, joy and peace… Happy Christmas my world traveller! XOXOOXOXOXOXOXOXOX

Leave a Reply

